Dr. Matthew McCutchen, Conductor and Artistic Director

Matthew McCutchen is the Director of Bands at the University of South Florida. His responsibilities include conducting the Wind Ensemble, teaching courses in conducting and music education, and cheering on the HOT Band at football games.  He is the Founder and Conductor of the Bay Area Youth (BAY) Winds, which features many of the finest high school musicians throughout the Tampa Area, and is the Conductor and Artistic Director of the Florida Wind Band. 

Dr. McCutchen earned a Ph.D. in Music Education with an emphasis in Instrumental Conducting from Florida State University, a Master’s degree in Conducting from Virginia Commonwealth University, and a Bachelor’s degree in Music Education from Furman University. 

Dr. McCutchen’s teaching experience spans from middle school to the university level. He is an active guest conductor, clinician, adjudicator, and performer who has been published in the National Band Association’s Journal, the 7th and 8th editions, the “Solos with Wind Band Accompaniment” editions of the Teaching Music through Performance in Band series, The Instrumentalist magazine, and the Florida Music Director

He serves as the Chair of the National Band Association/William D. Revelli Memorial Band Composition Contest Committee and is a member of the John Philip Sousa Foundation Legion of Honor Selection Committee. 



Robert Neale, principal
John Brennan
Anne Wall
Lauren DeLuca, piccolo


Dawn Hardy, principal
Michael Keogh 

Tony Negron, principal
Sharon Henson
Nikki Kemp

Alan Dubois
Kathy Sadowski

Stefanie McDannald
Tashianna Torres

Michelle Bednarek

George Linakis, principal bass clarinet

Ashley Huffman, bass and contra (Bb)


Kevin Fuller, principal
June Hammond

Ethan Miller


Josh Hollenbeck, principal
Ryan Gantt

Joshua Blair
Jason Allgair


Derek Blankenship, principal
Russ McCollum

Robert Baldridge

Michael Vail

Kevin Clark

Johnathon Mulder

John Baker

In Memoriam - Kevin Frye


Keith Griffis, principal
Brandon McDannald

Leticia Pons
Samantha Snow
​Christina Frye


John Marcellus, principal
Buggy Bowden
Terry Adams
Brian Mason, bass


Aaron Campbell, principal
Roy Mitchell


Kelly Bravard, principal
John Geisler


Kevin von Kampen, principal
Fai Fai Ho

Daniel Rodriguez

Tyler Carr

Kevin Sayers

Brain Dell

Elise Gonzalez

Michael Garcia


Bill Swartzbaugh


Agnieszka Zick